Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Honors bestowed on R&B

Honors bestowed on R&B
Watertown Red and Black head coach George Ashcraft added to an already banner year Sunday, as he was voted coach of the year in the Empire Football League.
Ashcraft, who just completed his 19th season, guided the team Saturday to its first championship victory since 1980. The victory also completed Watertown's resurgence from a 3-7 2008 campaign.
But Ashcraft wasn't the only one to earn postseason recognition, as 14 players were picked for the first team.
QB Brian Williams, who paced the league's highest scoring offense with eight touchdown passes, and eight running scores, was voted the offensive player of the year.
Offensive linemen David Towles, Aaron Brown and Mark Bowman earned first-team honors, as did wide receiver Nate Bryant.
Anthony Noel, who finished second in the league in rushing yards and scored nine touchdowns, and fullback Warren Spies each made the first team, too.
The Red and Black was also well represented on defense, as linebacker Mike Dumaw led the way with 70 tackles. Defensive linemen Dan Robl, Demetric White, Ben Pritchard and Garrett Kline were selected. Defensive backs Adam Bossinger and Anthony Tyrkala, who combined for nine interceptions, rounded out Watertown's first-team choices.
Others earning recognition were:
Second team: Offense, T.J. Williams (RB), John Toper (OL), Dumaw (P); Defense, Dylan Kirker (LB), Greg Roberson (LB), Dustin Houppert (LB).
Honorable mention: Offense, Lester Cole (WR), Ryan O'Hara (OL), Ernie Miller (return specialist); Defense, Rodney (DL), Todd Kiechle (Safety), Sidik Ibhmonhammed.

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Free Web Site Counter
Free Website Counter