Wednesday, February 22, 2012


EFL logo

Empire Football League Press Release
(877) 624-4485



The Syracuse Shock Adult Minor League football team is thrilled to announce they will be playing their home games at the D. Donald Distin Athletic Complex located at G. Ray Bodley High School in Fulton, New York.  The Shock is a proud member of the Empire Football League (EFL), which has been in existence for over 40 years.  The nine member EFL consists of Upstate New York teams in Albany, Amsterdam, Glens Falls, Plattsburgh, Rochester, Syracuse, Watertown, in addition to Burlington, Vermont and Montreal, Canada.

The Shock finished 26-4 over the past 2 seasons.  In 2010 while participating in the North American Football League (NAFL), the Shock opened their preseason with one loss but went on to a 10-0 regular season record.  They went on to win the Empire Division and Eastern Regional titles of the NAFL and finished 13-1 (13-2 with pre-season loss) with their only loss of the regular season coming to the number one team in the country.

In 2011, the Syracuse Shock joined the EFL and continued their winning ways by going 2-0 in preseason and 10-0 in regular season play.  The Shock lost one non-league contest during the season, won their first round playoff game but lost in the finals. They ended the season with an over-all record of 13-2.

The Syracuse Shock is looking forward to continuing their winning ways at their new home in Fulton.  Visit them online at or like them on Facebook.

Syracuse Shock 2012 Schedule:

June 9th            South Buffalo Celtics            non-league

June 16th          Eastern Mass Seminoles       non-league

July 7th             @ Monroe Co. Sting

July 14th           Bye

July 21st           Watertown Red & Black

July 28th           Amsterdam Zephrys

August 4th       @ Albany Metro Mallers

August 11th     Vermont Ice Storm

August 18th     Monroe Co. Sting

August 25th     @ Plattsburgh North Stars

September 1st  Labor Day Bye

September 8th  @ Glens Falls Green Jackets

September 15th            Montreal Voyageurs

September 22nd            Bye

September 29th            @ Watertown  

 Empire Fotball League Mission
-To provide a football league that fosters and facilitates amateur football training and competitions regionally, nationally, and internationally;
-To support the growth of amateur football regionally, nationally, and internationally;
-To organize, coordinate, and support football games with other regional, national, and international; football teams and leagues;
-To train, educate, and promote football players who desire to play on regional, national, and international football teams

Sunday, February 05, 2012

Empire Football League Press Release February 05, 2012 (attached)


Empire Football League Press Release February 05, 2012


(877) 624-4485



The Empire Football League held their 43rd Annual Meeting recently in Glens Falls, New York and announced that they will have 9 member teams for the 2012 season with the addition of the Monroe County Sting of Rochester.


The Monroe Sting was established in 1996 and carved their niche in semi-pro football with three National Championships (2007, 2008 & 2009), three league runner-ups, and six league titles in the span of 14 years. In 2008 the Sting completed an undefeated season and at one point held the number one ranking in the nation. The Sting most recently competed in the NFA and Elite Mid Continental Football Leagues.  


The EFL will consist of the following 9 teams for the 2012 season:

-      Albany Metro Mallers      

-      Amsterdam Zephyrs

-      Monroe County Sting

-      Glens Falls Greenjackets

-      Montreal Voyageurs        

-      Plattsburgh North Stars

-      Syracuse Shock

-      Vermont Ice Storm

-      Watertown Red & Black


The EFL season starts July 7th, has a bye September 1st and ends September 29th.  The EFL Playoffs will begin on October 6th and will conclude with the EFL Championship Game on October 20th.    


2012 Empire Football League Officers were elected as follows:
- Dave Burch, EFL Commissioner

- Bill Higgins, Commissioner of Officials
- Concetta Sager, Treasurer

- Al Dole, Deputy Commissioner

- Alvin Lollie, Deputy Commissioner
- Jane Dole, Secretary

- Gary Shaver, EFL Advisor


The 2012 Empire Football League schedule is as follows:



For additional information visit our EFL web site at

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Free Web Site Counter
Free Website Counter