Tuesday, November 13, 2007

Romiti, Wallingford capture EFL awards

Romiti, Wallingford capture EFL awards

The Scranton Eagles earned some hardware as the Empire Football League has announced its player awards and all-star teams for the 2007 season.

Veteran linebacker George Romiti, the EFL's leading tackler the past three seasons, made first-team defense and was chosen the Western Division's defensive MVP for the second straight season.

Quarterback Ted Wallingford picked up two honors, becoming the second straight Eagle to be named the division's Offensive Rookie of the Year as well as nabbing a berth on the EFL Western Division's first team.

Joining Wallingford on the first-team offense are center Jeremy Shaffer, tight end Matt Williams and wide receiver Louis Verdetto. Free safety Cory Champi was the lone Eagle to be named to the first team on defense.

Coach Mike Arcure and linebackers Nick Parlanti and Jim Shaffer were awarded spots on the second team.

Kicker Scott Perry, who played only half a season, as well as defensive back Rob Wehner, running backs Gary Visnofsky and Phil Ross, defensive lineman Chris Clancy and offensive lineman T.J. Conserette were accorded honorable mention.

Contact the writer:mcoons@timesshamrock.com

See what's new at AOL.com and Make AOL Your Homepage.

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Free Web Site Counter
Free Website Counter